Pages

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Community Throw Down

The television show Community is, in my opinion, a great show.  Dan Harmon has done a phenomenal job boiling down the formula for a success in this industry.* My roommate and the two kids who live in the room next to us watch an episode almost every single night.  I introduced them to the show and they took to it like Amsterdam took to tulips.  As with most television shows, my group of friends each quickly picked a favorite character.  These preferences for characters quickly aroused debate.  No debate among are group has been more heated, however, than the debate as to who is hotter: Alison Brie or Gillian Jacobs.

I advocate for team Brie. **  Here are the top two reasons why I think Alison Brie is more attractive than Gillian Jacobs.
  1. Eyes.  Alison Brie possesses a phenomenal set of eyes.  The large orbs invoke emotions behind comprehension.  More often than not there is a sense of innocence that comes across.  
  2. Pouty.  On occasion her character utilizes her luscious lips to convey a sense of need or to cajole another character to her side.
There are other reasons why I prefer Alison Brie over Gillion Jacobs. Some have to do with the characters they play on Community.  However, everyone has their personal preferences.  If it came down to guys on the show I don't know who I would prefer. Season 2 was harsh on Pierce (Chevy Chase) in my opinion.  He was made to be the antagonist and the script came out swinging.  The dungeons and dragons episode really packed a punch as well as the bequeathing episode where he goes out of his way to hurt the others.  Season 3 has just started, and I know that regardless of the endless debates over who is better looking that I will be watching Community every Thursday with a good group of friends.

*There was recently an article in the magazine Wired regarding Dan Harmon and his supposed algorithm for television shows.
**Screw the people who buy team Jakob(Jacob?) or team Edward shirts because of twilight. Those are basically giants signs that tell me I shouldn't think about becoming your acquaintance or friend.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Defintion of Diabolical

Here is the conversation my roommate and I had just a few minutes ago.

Max-"We should mess with Gavin's stuff while he is gone."

Tom-"Weird because I was talking with them about fucking with you while you were gone yesterday."

Max-"Haha, thanks."

Tom-"Yeah, I was thinking for your birthday I'd buy you a ton of Great Value Pop Tarts.  Brown sugar cinnamon ones! Then I wouldn't give you the receipt so you couldn't return them!"

Max-"That'd be crazy!"

Tom-"Yeah, I'm one diabolical s.o.b."


Oh, he better not.






Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Dreams

Short entry about a dream I had the other night.

Weird dream. I was on a cruise ship with my college soccer team. Things were going about as typical as you could imagine for a bunch of college kids on a cruise with their soccer coaches. But then! I ran into a ex-girlfriend. All I can remember is that we were on the deck talking when one of my teammates informed me that we needed to start warming up. The rest of the team appeared and started doing our dynamic stretches.

This is the point where I woke up. I don't quite know what it was telling me, but all I can say is that soccer teams don't typically practice on boats.

Oh, those moments

Does anyone else enjoy those super awkward moments when someone who you aren't really friends with tries to talk to you when there isn't really all that much to say? Yes, I too find them incredibly awkward but I enjoy looking back upon for their humorous value. My calculus professor saw me in the library today and came over to talk to me. I was currently printing off some graphs for my biology lab. He inquired to what I was doing and naturally I explained, but when we were done discussing the properties of water (not an incredibly lengthy conversation for a calculus professor and I) we didn't have much to go off of. He asked me if I was having any troubles with calculus and what I thought. This is when it started to get awkward because I didn't really have anything to say about the topic. I naturally would've responded, "It's okay." That wouldn't suffice here though. I made up some problem that I was having trouble with and he explained it, but then we were at the same roadblock. Where do we go from here? He was contributing most of the talking while I nodded my head. Luckily, the amount of awkward silence was at a minimum and he excused himself and reminded me about office hours.

Personally if he wouldn't have had left right away we would probably have a different dynamic to our relationship. Whenever we talked there would always be that conversation in the back of my mind.

Life

Be Kind Rewind

The day of the VHS has almost faded to memory. The children are growing up in a world filled with dvds and 3-D. The simply days of the past are exactly that, in the past. Is the fading of the VHS also the fading of an era.

I am not talking about an era in a sense of Modernism or an official title, but something more along the lines of a Be Kind Rewind era, an era of common courtesy. No one is required to rewind any more. DVDs don’t have that function the need to rewind is obsolete. So, does that mean in conjunction that being kind is obsolete?

Society today seems too wrapped up in moving forward and bettering individuals. What happened to stopping to help someone else? If a stranger drops a pen, do you stop to pick it up? A frustrated person is clutching a map do you stop to offer directions, or do you walk off wondering what that person was looking for. Do you walk off because it was an inconvenience to help another?

I don’t want to come off like someone looking down on everyone else. It is just an observation that I too fall victim to. Tunnel vision with one’s self in sight.